ERIKA MORITSUGU, DEPUTY ASSISTANT TO THE PRESIDENT AND AA/NHPI SENIOR LIAISON: Anti-Asian Hate and the Economic Challenges affecting our China towns

On September 25, 2021 from 3 pm-5 pm PST, Erika Moritsugu — President Biden’s Deputy Assistant and Asian-American/Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander (AA/NHPI) Senior Liaison and the highest-ranking AA/NHPI member of President Biden’s staff — will engage in a conversation with the panelists below. Let’s work together to stop anti-Asian hate. The White House is listening.

Register 👉 tinyurl.com/dfnzumwp

More AAPI webinars on September 24-25: shorturl.at/xyEFK

 

Opening Remarks by Assemblyman David Chiu

Panelists:

• Erika Moritsugu: Deputy Assistant to President Biden and Asian-American/Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander Senior Liaison

• Nancy Tung (Moderator): Community Advocate

• Carl Chan: President of Oakland Chinatown’s Chamber of Commerce

• George Q. Chen: Founder/Chairman of restaurant China Live

• Cynthia Choi: Co-Director Chinese for Affirmative Action

• Anni Chung: Executive Director of Self-Help for the Elderly

• Lily Mei: Mayor of Fremont

• Daniel Wu: Actor

Like Civic Leadership USA on FB and follow us (@civicleadershipusa) on IG to receive the most updated information regarding AAPI events/webinars and beyond!

#CLUSA
#nclf2021
#civicleadershipusa
Categories
Uncategorized

Rise: Asian Pacific America


Assemblymember David Chiu ,
Chair of the Asian Pacific Islander Legislative Caucus

Assemblymember David Chiu, Chair of the Asian Pacific Islander Legislative Caucus, is working with Asian American elected and community leaders around the country about the anti-Asian hate we’re all seeing throughout our diverse communities.  He and his colleagues would like to invite you to “Rise: Asian Pacific America“, a series of online town halls throughout the month of May which is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month. The town halls will discuss where we are today, where we’ve been as a community, and where we need to go, to rise up to the challenges we face in the near and remote future. 

Guest speakers will help frame the conversation, and voices from around the country will be invited to take part in the discussion, with opportunities for conversation among all participants. These interactive, multimedia convenings are scheduled for one hour on four consecutive Fridays — May 8, 15, 22 and 29 – at 8pm EST/ 7pm CST/ 6pm MST/ 5pm Pacific Time.

More information will be available in the coming days.

To add your organization’s name in support of this event, please contact Cat Nou at cat.nou@asm.ca.gov.